Daragh O’Riordan wins the Cartell.ie International Rally of the Lakes 2011!

Congratulations to Cork’s Daragh O’Riordan (SI2B Subaru WRC) for his comprehensive victory in the Cartell.ie International Rally of the Lakes 2011! Co-driven by Derry’s Tony McDaid they finished three minutes and 50.4 seconds ahead of second-place Denis Cronin/Coleman (Hurley Subaru WRC), and third placed Eoin Doyle/Peter Brennan (Subaru WRC).

The journalists favourite for the event, Tim McNulty set the pace on Saturday’s first stage, Moll’s Gap, where he was 13.1 seconds ahead of O’Riordan before his engine failed on stage 3 – ending his chances of success. From that point onwards O’Riordan started to dominate the event  extending a significant gap. He also posted the fastest time of the weekend on Sunday morning at Moll’s Gap to claim the Bertie Fisher Trophy. His win at the Rally of the Lakes is his first major rallying success. Congratulations Daragh from Cartell.ie!

Photo reproduced with permission of myrally.ie